Modern cultures around the world have become similar when compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

When travelling on holidays, it can be often comforting to find the same amenities abroad that are also at home. No matter how far you travel and exotic the culture, it is nearly assured you will find your favourite fast food joint to enjoy your happy meal. Afterwards, in the local pub, you can most assuredly continue to drink your familiar beer, and in the evening you can catch the latest episode of your favourite tv show in your hotel room.

It looks like wherever one goes nowadays, the differences in cultures are becoming increasingly smaller and there seems to be a world wide convergence in various aspects of our lives that we all share. Certainly, the idea of fast food would have been vastly different in Asia in the 1950’s than it would have been in Germany or the United States. And this does not only pertain to foodstuffs, but one could insert any number of cultural aspects, such as architecture or music.

Especially, however, modern aspects of pop culture, in which I include the fast food phenomena, has conquered the world in an unprecedented fashion. It all started to a lesser extent with the advancement of mass transportation by air, affordable by a large number of people from rich economies. Hence, I surmise, the dominance of predominantly American movies and also music world wide that started sometime in the 1970’s, coinciding with the affordability of airplane travel. With the internet and social media the world has even become a smaller place. We can walk through the streets of Delhi instantly using Google Streetview, or we can chat with a stranger on a different continent, who likely learned English as a second language.

Technological inventions have always sparked societal changes and technology is the reason why societies and cultures are becoming more congruent. Even though there are these assimilating forces at work , overall, I believe that we have the opportunity for a deeper understanding and appreciation of the various idiosyncrasies that different cultures offer.