In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today almost every aspect of our life can be done online without the need for direct contact between people because of the proliferation of the Internet and technological devices. While some people argue that this development is positive, others believe otherwise.

On the one hand, the ability to shop, work, and communicate virtually is beneficial in terms of saving time and money. Firstly, e-commerce platforms allow shoppers to purchase all their daily necessities while sitting comfortably at home, without enduring traffic congestion while heading to a supermarket. Secondly, video conferencing save entrepreneurs hours of fatigue on costly long-haul flights to meet their partners and conduct business. Additionally, friends or colleagues can exchange information, strengthen their bonds in a blink of an eye thanks to free instant messaging applications.

On the other hand, a world lacking face-to-face contact can be disadvantageous in several ways. One possible demerit is that online shopping can be an ideal place for dishonest businesses, selling low-quality but expensive products, as there is no way to verify their trustworthiness without direct examination. Regarding remote working, it is often challenging to maintain a high level of concentration given the lack of close supervision from managers. Finally, online conversations between friends are usually deemed superficial, as current technology still struggles to convey genuine emotions compared to direct communication.

In conclusion, the fact that most of the essential aspects of our daily life can be done indirectly with the help of the latest technologies can be both positive and negative.