In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others, it is a positive or negative development in your opinion?

In today's world, it can be seen that people are able to shop, work, and interact with others via the Internet instead of direct communication. From my point of view, this phenomenon presents both positive and negative aspects equally.

On the one hand, access to the Internet has benefited the public greatly in terms of its convenience and comfort. First of all, it can not be denied that some telecommunication online platforms, such as G-mail and Messenger, facilitate people's interaction, thus, bringing them together, no matter how old they are and where it is. For instance, an international student or an employee who works in foreign countries can deliver a message to their friends and families, even see them through online video call applications, with only the click of a mouse, regardless of geographical barriers. Furthermore, online platforms can help consumers save a huge amount of time spent traveling to malls and also seek out items or services of the highest quality without engaging in lengthy commutes, especially during extreme weather conditions like heavy tropical rain or the scorching heat of the summer. Additionally, in the intricate context of the COVID-19 pandemic, most shopping centers, and several traditional shops were banned by the governments. As a result, shopping via the Internet has become the best option to buy the necessary items at this time. In fact, goods that are sold online have been thoroughly verified before reaching consumers. Therefore, users can be assured when buying, and hence, prevent them from getting infected by the Coronaviruses that killed millions of people in the world.

On the other hand, certain detriments have arisen from excessive Internet use. First and foremost, the Internet has seriously affected our mental health, especially in terms of diminished physical and mental conditions. To illustrate, according to The New York Times, which is one of the most prestigious online news corporations, overindulgence in the virtual world would undoubtedly trigger a sedentary lifestyle, which is responsible for a number of health-related problems such as impaired vision, obesity, creating little sleep or the inability to process and express emotions. Another harmful drawback is the decline in social skills which are crucial for real-life contact. It is common for frequent social network users to feel awkward when attempting to strike up conversations with strangers or make a dialogue about social occasions. As a result, these people might eventually become socially alienated and suffer from a great sense of loneliness, and hence, they can easily suffer from numerous psychological syndromes like autism or depression when they could not communicate with others directly.

In summary, although the use of the Internet for shopping, working, and communication purposes comes with many benefits in life, I believe that the adverse impacts of this platform on health and lifestyle are far weightier.