In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

Ever since the Internet emerged in the early 1990s, it has played a vital role in numerous aspects of people's live, ranging from shopping, working and communication. In my opinion, this advance has both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that the Internet is by far the most indispensable facet of modern society, greatly benefiting human in terms of convenience and comfort. As far as shopping aspect is concerned, geograpical distance has been narrowed by virtue of technological developments as well as the explosion of e-commerce businesses. Consumers can now purchase almost everything sold online in the comfort of own homes rather than visiting physical retailers. Additionally, the Internet also serves a crucial role when it comes to easy cooperation among employees in different nations. Nowadays, interactions via emails or social networking sites are almost as good as face-to-face meetings. In fact, we can instantly deliver a message to our colleagues, family members and friends only at the click of a mouse.

On the other hand, numerous drawbacks are found to be closely associated with excessive Internet use. The overdependence on virtual communication is the primary cause of the decline in social skills, which is highly likely to be detrimental to real relationships. It is widely acknowledged that Internet-related innovations have caused humans to become more isolated socially and deteriorate in interpersonal skills. Another foreseeable negative is that Internet addiction causes eyesight problems and migraine headaches. Moreover, people also suffer from metal illnesses from long-term Internet use. These days, it is not difficult for students to get access to the inappropriate websites which can spoil their students' minds.

In conclusion, the Internet is unquestionably a useful and powerful tool; however, it should be used moderately and appropriately to prevent regrettable incidents from happening.