Money for postgraduate research is limited. Some people, therefore, think that financial support from government should be only provided for scientific research rather than research for less useful subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Although in many countries the financial subsidy for postgraduate research is restricted due to a host of reasons, I do not agree with the idea that governmental investment should only be confined within the boundary of scientific research. Actually, theoretical and humanity research are also important to the the society.

People argue that from the practical perspective, experimental subjects deserve more financial support. It is the scientific research that bring about the cutting-edge technology, which as a consequence lay a foundation for improvement of people's living standard. Taking the biological experiment as an example, the progress of biochemistry will be beneficial for the well-being of people. Therefore, appropriate financial aid is necessary for scientists' further study. In addition, the result of those researches could be profitable in the long run, which will promote the economic development of a country.

However, despite the fact that scientific research has direct influence on the progress of society, financial support should not only be poured into it. This is mainly because theoretical and humanity subjects are also of great significance for a country's development. Firstly, some basic subjects, such as philosophy and maths, offer theoretical basics on engineering and technology. Those subjects should also be emphasised by the governments in order to do further studies. Furthermore, the economic utilisation should not be regarded as the only standard when considering a country's development. Social and humanity subjects should also be taken into consideration. People's cultural quality and moral standard are likely to improve with the development of those domains. As a result, those subjects are also worth subsidies offered by governments.

In conclusion, as other subjects share the same importance as scientific research, financial supports should also be proportionately allocated to them for the sake of developing a well-round society.