The money spent by governments on space programmes should be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It was a great journey since human first endeavored to explore the universe. There was countless project afterwards fueled by an enormous budget that aimed at only one purpose: to conquer the outer space. The serious issues within our society, however, have emerged beyond the expectations that demanded an urgent support from national capital. From my point of view, a solution in which the governments could balance their financial resource used for both space programmes and social services is the most optimal option.

On the one hand, the breakthroughs in field of space have changed series of aspects of human life, especially in positive trend. In fact, the Cold War witnessed a race that consumed an incredible budget among superpowers to serve only one purpose: to fly human to the outer space. This move laid a foundation to establish a net of satellite that aim to optimize the processing and transferring information. Thanks to millions of gigabytes of information are being encrypted per second, our communicating has changed forever. For example, Google map, an application developed based on the source of signal sent directly from the outer satellites to user’s devices, did change our transporting at its root. Such magnificent application allows its users to navigate exactly their destination with the most efficient route. Besides, satellite cloud images also improved the accuracy in forecasting severe disasters that aim to reduce the damage to the lowest level. In this light, space programs deserves the money invested.

On another aspect, emerging issues within our society are in desperate need of being tackled. The issues, without an appropriate solution from the administration, could affect our next generations negatively, or even worse, to trigger the irreconcilable conflicts inside a country. For example, the migrant caravan storming at US border in recent days forced president Trump administration to pay attention in both financial and human resources to deal with. Opponents of space projects have the right to question for they condemned politicians to use space research capital to build up their own reputations as well as to drive a race to nothing on global scale. Hence, it is righteous to call for an adequate solution from government in using national budget.

In conclusion, we spend billions of dollars to find life on other planet and trillions for dollars killing the life on the Earth. However, it is inevitable that the benefits from space projects are the huge profits few could argue with. Therefore, I believe that to balance financial resource in investing both space programs and vital public services is the most adequate solution.