More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As being obese is becoming a serious problem lately, some are of the thought that a price hike on unhealthy foods will help to tackle this issue. I tend to disagree with this argument, as I believe that there are other several ways in addressing this problem.

To begin with, although increasing the prices of fast foods will somehow help to deter some people away from purchasing it, creating awareness through public education should be taken into account for. With this, it will help the public to be more aware and understand the danger of consuming too much food that are high in fat and salt content. This, in turn, will prevent more people from eating too much of such unhealthy food. Moreover, public education can also create an awareness towards the fast food chain owners in preparing a much healthier options for everyone. As a result, the public will then be able to enjoy a much healthier diet and thus curbing the issue of obesity.

Furthermore, a regular exercise routine should also be considered in one’s daily life. This is because consuming a healthy diet alone does not help one to keep fit. It is encouraged for everyone to at least exercise three times a week to be healthy and fit. For instance, someone who eats healthily but does not exercise can still gain weight due to the energy consumed not being burn. Therefore, it is beneficial to exercise regularly as it can prevent one from health issues including being overweight.

In conclusion, even though price hike on fast food can discourage people from buying, it does not help in reducing obesity in the society. Therefore, it is my belief that increasing awareness through public education and engaging in various exercises is more efficient in addressing the issue of overweight.