More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life but city life can be extremely difficult Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city How can governments make urban life better for everyone

It is true that cities are seen as places of opportunity, but there are several major drawbacks of living in a large metropolis. The following essays will discuss the difficulties of city life and measures that government could take to mitigate the situations.

As an increasing number of people are migrating to cities, several related problems can be anticipated. Firstly, the main issue is that low-income people can not afford a high cost of living. This is because more people migrate to cities for finding decent jobs, there is an increasing demand for housing, which leads to a rise in the cost of accommodation that not everyone can handle. A further problem will include poor drainage systems. It is clearly noticed that many rundown areas are drawn on rainy days, which causes an increasing percentage of accidents and damages for flooded houses.

However, some effective measures could be implemented to alleviate the problems described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be to invest more money in the building of industrial areas on the outskirts of cities. It is believed that such a measure will create a myriad of jobs for rural inhabitants, which results in a better income to support their lives and a decrease in migrants to the city. A second measure would be for governments to upgrade drainage systems. This action involves repairing and reinforcing infrastructure facilities, such as roads and systems of watercourses in areas normally affected by rain, flood, and tide. As a result, a low percentage of accidents and increasing living standards are expected.

In conclusion, high-cost living and poor drainage systems are two primary reasons contributing to several difficulties of living in a sprawling city. Fortunately, there are various effective solutions for government to take to tackle these issues, which results in enhancing the quality of life for all the city residents.