More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past few years, we have seen a growing tendency for people to go studying in foreign countries. Although studying abroad could have some drawbacks, it seems to me that its advantages are more significant.

To begin with, it is generally agreed that having qualifications gained abroad can give people with plenty of ample job opportunities, especially in a competitive labour market. Foreign institutions may offer better courses and use teachers who are experts in their fields, so the qualifications given by them are usually evaluated higher in comparison with the qualifications from domestic universities. Besides, the employers usually take the education backgrounds of candidates in consideration first; therefore if the employees have graduated from prestigious foreign universities, they are more likely to get the jobs.

Another benefit is that studying abroad allow people to broaden their horizons and sharpen their abilities. When living in other countries, overseas students cannot avoid encountering with cultural differences from languages to local traditional customs, so they have to find their ways to adapt to the new countries. During this process, they will become more independent because they now must be responsible for everything such as cooking, cleaning, paying for bills and on top of that overcoming their homesickness. In addition, they also have the opportunities to explore new countries which could be really interesting and memorable.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that the benefits of going to study in a foreign country outweigh the disadvantages in term of future career and personal development.