More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unaid work such as teaching and building houses for communities in poorer countries. What are the reasons for this? Who benefits more from this, the cummunities or these young people.

A growing number of young adults living in rich countries are allocating their short time to volunteer to help residents in developing nations. There are some reasons for this phenomenon, and I believe that these voluntary jobs bring benefits equally for both these youngsters and the local communities.

On the one hand, several main causes are considered contributing to the significant rise in voluntary activities of the young in wealthy countries. Mainly, travelling to different isolated parts of the world, these adults considerably have chances of networking and socializing with people from all walks of life; therefore, they could expand their social circle. Moreover, understandably volunteers also have a sense of community when doing unpaid work. Finally, the hands-on experiences young adults gain from real life help put what they have learnt into practice. As a result of this, these young people can become competitive candidates in the job market.

On the other hand, I consider that local habittants in poorer countries and volunteers in rich nations achieve equally efficient results when voluntary work is implemented. Firstly, learning a new language from a free class, the job situation of the local communities could be improved more. For example, the local residents’ ability to speak English fluently, which is acquired from unpaid courses, might help them to seek a decent job in tourism industry. In addition, exposing to new cultures through travelling allows young adults discover and experience the novelty in authentic life. For instance, the more trips the young travel, the more local food and traditional clothes they may sample and try wearing.

In conclusion, Obviously there are several causes leading to the free support of the young in developed countries for the local in developing nations, and I would argue that the positive impacts of the voluntary activities are just as equal as for both of these people.