More big shopping malls are being built and they replace small shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that a growing number of large-scale shopping centers take over the roles that previously used to be played by small shops. While this trend can be negative to some extent, I would argue that it is more positive.

On the one hand, replacing small shops with bigger ones has several drawbacks. First, because there are few big shopping malls located in a relatively large area, many people have to travel across long distances, which take people more time even to buy few items for their daily consumption such as soaps or instant noodles. If small shops are remained to located around the city, people find it more convenient to buy such items. Second, because of the high cost of operation, prices of the products which consumers buy in shopping centers might be more expensive than the similar ones selling in small shops. As a result, shopping malls are economically unsuitable to serve daily consumed products, which increases citizen’s expenditure.

On the other hand, there are several grounds why big shopping malls benefit citizens. The first one is that the sources and origins of products are seriously checked when they are imported into big shopping malls, which guarantees the quality of the products. If people buy goods in small shops, they might buy fake ones with low quality. Additionally, Shopping centers provide people with a broad spectrum of products such as closes or vegetables. This enables people to buy different items at the same place. Therefore, they can save time and cost of traveling when they need to buy many kinds of products at once.

In conclusion, replacing small shops with bigger ones has several negative impacts, I believe the benefits of this tendency are much greater.