More companies have opened working areas without walls or barriers on their desks. Do the disadvantages of open-plan offices outweigh the advantages?

Open-plan offices with desks free from walls or barriers have become all the rage in more companies. This essay will examine both sides of this trend to give my verdict that the benefits of this phenomenon outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the open office concepts have been reported to impose pernicious effects to a certain extent on employees’ privacy. This is derived from the fact that workers may be subjected to unwanted scrutiny from others with just a glance if there are no walls or barriers. Consequently, they might then experience a sense of disrespect for the lack of privacy at workplaces, which can adversely affect their work proficiency. Consequently, I believe that workers’ privacy might be somehow adversely affected by open working areas.

On the other hand, I support the idea that the merits of open-plan offices outweigh the demerits in terms of creating friendly working environments and curtailing the budget. Initially, the open-plan design would allows workers to attain a sense of relaxation and friendliness; thus can act as a deterrent to stress and contribute to productivity, and opportunities for effective cooperation between colleagues. Besides, another perk of open office concepts is saving money spent on setup costs. For example, barriers, which is made from metal and plastic, are often sold at a relatively high price. Therefore, companies that do not purchase these products would lessen the money splurged on office infrastructure. Therefore, from my perspective, offices without barriers would do more good than harm.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that the advantages of cooperative and friendly working environments and saving costs outweigh the minimal disadvantages of lacking privacy in open-plan offices.