More people live alone today than they did in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Unlike previous generations, people are likely to live separately with their family these days. From my perspective, this is a positive development which can help individuals more mature. However, pressure is anticipated later on in their lives.

It is undeniable that the trend of living alone has many negative consequences related to psychological problems and higher cost of living. Firstly, a single-member family tends to suffer from loneliness or isolation because they hardly share their sorrow or confidence with others. A typical example at the workplace is that when the employees work under high pressure or harsh working environment, if they cannot reveal their sadness or stress, it will affect adversely their mental state. Secondly, single-person family member also shoulders the higher cost of living due to struggling with accommodation, transportation or food on a daily basis. For instance, Vietnamese youngsters migrate from the rural areas to big cities, consequently, this leads them to commit crimes owning to bearing the total expenses.

From the opposite viewpoint, living independently brings a wide range of benefits regarding enhancing personal skill development and satisfying with the freedom of each person . One advantage is that students tend to become more self-independent when they live far away from their homes. Some basic skills could be gradually improved including cookery or manageable skills. Furthermore, people are more mature and responsible for their lives. They know how to deal with their problems without any help. Another plus point of this trend is that no one forces them what they should do or not. They completely choose and decide their future without any regulations from their elder members in the family.

In conclusion, although living alone has several advantages, I believe that the disadvantages of this trend are worth considering.