More people live in cities nowadays than in the past. As a result, more children grow up in urban areas. Some people believe that raising a child in a city is mostly beneficial. Meanwhile, other people claim that it has too many drawbacks. Discuss both views and provide your opinion.

It is inevitable that these days more people tend to move to urban areas thanks to enormous benefits, especially for their children’s future. Nevertheless, some people believe that the way city dwellers bring up a baby has a negative impact on him. Personally, I agree with the statement that living in big cities is advantageous to a child’s background.

On the one hand, it is clear that children can derive numerous benefits from growing up in downtown districts. Indeed, they receive a better education than others in the countryside do. Thanks to up-to-date equipment, students gain unlimited access to useful information such as the politics or new discoveries in science. Also, they can absorb the knowledge regardless of where and when so long as the phones are connected to the Internet. Meanwhile, teachers there are more well-trained than those in villages, hence they can provide the pupils with more effective learning methods and lessons, not only theories in books but practical knowledge as well.

On the other hand, teenagers spending the childhood in the inner-city areas also suffer from some drawbacks. In terms of safety, living in rural areas is obviously preferable because of a much lower rate of transgressions than that in developed towns. Due to the high living expenses and the lack of job vacancies, some people having a shortage of money resort to crimes, stealing money or robbing banks, for example. Furthermore, the density of traffic makes parents fear for the safety of their children. As a result, they prevent the teenagers from going out and outdoor activities, which leads to the sedentary lifestyle and addiction to technology.

To conclude, raising children in city centres has both advantages and disadvantages. My view is that it would be more beneficial for the teenagers to grow up there than in the countryside.