Schools concentrate far too much on traditional subjects which do not adequately prepare students for the realistic demands of the modern working world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether compulsory subjects at schools are crucial to students'future or not is a hot debate. Some people believe that knowledge can not provide pupils with essential skills for their employment opportunities. Personally, I partially agree with this statement.

On the one hand, the importance of the knowledge absorbed at schools is undeniable. Thanks to traditional subjects, students can acquire the knowledge of almost all fields such as biology, history, science, which lays a foundation for their majors in the future. Furthermore, some subjects like maths and literature possibly help to improve their critical thinking. In terms of maths, pupils seem to concentrate hard to find different solutions, whereas they can practice to debate and think about various aspects of a problem while learning literature.

On the other hand, focusing the attention on studying those subjects is detrimental to the students. Due to much pressure on scores and ranks at schools from their parents and teachers, they are likely to spend most of the time attending extra classes and learning theories. As a result, they do not have enough time to participate in extracurricular activities like playing sports or doing voluntary works, which provides them with practical skills. In other words, the theories at schools might not adequately prepare them for the demands of the working world.

To conclude, the knowledge of those traditional subjects is important for pupils. My view is that besides concentration on the study at schools, students should acquire more intellectual skills by other activities for the best preparation.