In most countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that fast food is more affordable and ubiquitous in some countries. While this tendency has several benefits, I believe overall the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that the ubiquity of fast food brings about an enormous convenience for people in modern life. Instead of spending too much time on cooking or preparing the meals, they can order from fast food outlets or restaurants. Not only is that trend so time-saving but it also contributes to reducing pressure on young people. Take office staff as an example. To make a decent living and meet the high standard, they must work overtime as much as possible, meaning that they tend to arrive home at about 10 p.m. In that case, fast food is a perfect alternative, providing them for a convenient dinner.

However, despite the advantage mentioned above, I believe that they are negated by these following problems. First of all, that tendency is the culprit of obesity among young people. It is undeniable that most fast food is processed with so much oil, which is the key factor appealing people to consume. The ripple effect on the high amount of fat in convenience food such as chips and fried chicken, increases the risk of suffering from being overweight. In addition, food hygiene is also of major concern when fast food is cheaper and easier to access. The fact is that there is no certainty that the cooking process would be safer than home-cooked food. For instance, it is likely that workers in fast food stores can choose the spoiled materials or use some chemicals to make food fresher.

In conclusion, although the growing popularity in fast food has an enormous benefit, I believe that it is outweighed by the problems mentioned above.