Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development. However, others think the social value is lost as a result of economic development. To what extent do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that economic advancement plays as a tool to enhance the living quality in almost all of the countries. While many people argue that economic development places considerable negative effects on our social values, I believe that its benefits are outweighed.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the economic upsurge has partly changed the society in a negative way. Indeed, economic development creates a hustle and bustle pace of life which requires people to work hard and play less to keep up with such rat race. For example, parents have a tendency to spend more time working instead of playing and taking care of their children, while people under money pressure become indifferent to each other. In addition, the changing in infrastructure is as a result of economic development which has strong impacts on the traditional values. Vietnam is an illustration of this argument when many historical buildings have been replaced by the skyscraper.

On the other hand, there are accountable advantages that economic development brings to our life. Firstly, economic development contributes to lower the unemployment rate. In fact, the more job offers, the happier people are since they can easily earn money to afford their daily essential or even a luxury lifestyle. Secondly, the education and healthcare system also take the advance. The raising in revenue allows the government to invest more to improve the public services which directly benefit citizens. For instance, patients have a chance to access to high-quality health treatments with reasonable price, while students can study in a modern classroom with the well-trained teachers.

In conclusion, it can be said that although some drawbacks exist, the benefits of economic development are still far away and it stands to a reason for an unstoppable improvement.