Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent to do agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental degradation is a growing concern in both developed and developing world, posing a threat to national economy and development. However, tt is argued that environment-related issues are not given much thought as it deserves. While I support this statement, I believe that the world is making an attempt not to deteriorate the natural habitat.

The first reason is that environmental issues are having little impact on individual life at the moment, but the wildlife and future generation. For example, deforestation, which is mostly caused by human activities, not only leads to wild animal’s habitat destruction currently, but residential damage as well. However, only when natural calamities such as flooding takes place is the need to preserve the forest considered. In terms of future generation, they will be a victim of natural resources depletion if we continuously make use of these resources with lack of awareness. Another reason is that people fail to see how serious damage is global warming exerts on the environment. As a result, most industrial zones and individuals are turning a blind eye to the problem by not reducing their carbon footprint, which is exacerbating the environment.

Despite those arguments, I strongly believe that a plethora of efforts have been made to alleviate environmental problems. Renewable energy is more and more universally consumed than it used to be to produce mostly electricity, reducing the reliance on fossil fuels, which are one of the contributors to pollution. Individuals are also raising their self-awareness by using biodegradable packaging and other environmentally friendly products.

In conclusion, although the impact of environment-related issues is underestimated due to lack of awareness, much effort are put in environmental protection.