Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals, during festival period,people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

What extent do agree and disagree?

It is true that some people argue that religious and traditional festivals are providing a great time to have fun and no longer remember the original meaning of them. I totally agree that enjoyment seems to be a priority during the festival times. And I disagree that in this contemporary era people are unaware of the reasons behind them.

On the one hand, traditional and religious festivals leed great opportunities to enjoy people. The most celebrating Indian festival is Christmas. Individuals eagerly look forward to this festival due to long period of holiday. Therefore, they tend to take this time to do shopping,decorating home and enjoy traditional meals with families. Moreover, they display lights in front of their home, which illustrates that darkness is disappearing around the world. In addition, most people would prefer to commute abroad during this occasion. So that they unwind their stress of work. Although, they can be seen different cultures and costumes which give them a sense of new experience.

On the other hand, I disagree with the idea of forgetting the real meaning of festivals. In India, children are taught the reasons behind this religious festivals at their primary school. However, families play a vital step to passing knowledge of festivals on to the next generation via celebrating festivals every year. In this way children generally be learnt the stories about these religious occasions at an early age.

By the way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm that enjoyment must be a primary goal. And still people are being aware of the reasons of celebrating traditional festivals.