As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Most people spend a great deal of time in their adult life working. Therefore, job satisfaction plays a vital role in their devotion to their job. From my point of view, I believe that many factors constitute job contentment. In this essay, I will prove my points and discuss the reality of their expectations of job satisfaction.

The main factor contributing to job delight is the recognition of workers’ achievements at work. When the company recognizes their outcomes at work, they can understand their role and value contributed to the organization. Employees will feel happy at work; thus, they will devote more and work harder to complete their tasks. Moreover, the culture at the workplace is also an element that affects happiness at work, such as co-worker friendliness can create the enjoyment of working. Besides, a creative, comfortable, and less stressful/ stress-free working environment can bring workers more delight.

On the other hand, many employees have in their minds the expectations of pleasure in working. However, people should not expect a perfect workplace where it satisfies all requirements such as high salary and non-compulsory work conditions. Workers should have a realistic expectancy of job enjoyment based on their goals at work. For example, many fresh graduates with little experience are often confused in choosing a work environment where they can learn from their seniors or a job with a high salary that gains less knowledge and experience. Therefore, if they desire to learn more from their predecessors, a realistic expectation should be a shared work environment with experienced colleagues first and foremost. By doing so, they can easily find gratification while working.

In conclusion, each person should choose the most significant factor of the working environment to set more realistic expectations and achieve happiness at work.