The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places What are the serious problems and what measures can be taken to solve this problem (126715)

Migration rate of labor forces from villages to cities has increased significantly in recent years. As a consequence, most of the cities all over the world are becoming overcrowded, unable to provide basic human eminities. Moreover, the agricultural production is harshly affected by lack of adequate farming forces.

As more people enters the cities in search of better income and improved standard of living, the cities have to increase its capacity to support the increasing population. Unfortunately, being unable to manage the new-comers, the authorities face unparallel challenges maintaining supply chain, medical facility as well as housing space. So the people living in these cities are not ensured with basic human needs. Furthermore, the agricultural areas, which contribute directly to the gross domestic production of an economy, are faced with scarcity of labor forces. In 2018, for instance, India reported to have decreased agricultural production, though its unemployment rate increased comparatively, indicating that though people are looking for work, agricultura industry is not getting required workers. Relocating citizens have negative impact both on the city life as well as on the national economy.

To solve the problem, the prime cause has to be addressed, which is the difference in between City income and village income. The responsible authority can work on mitigating income differences all over the country to discourage everyone from looking for better income. Then again, some of them are looking for better standard of living. So ensuring basic human needs all over the nation can also provide the people with mental peace. By ensuring income and lifestyle, the migration rate can be kept in check, without impacting the cities and national economy.

To conclude, every city has a limit to serve a number of people, after which the whole system attempts to collapse. Similarly, the agriculture industry requires a good number of people to continue production smoothly. By taking initiatives to reduce the interest of migration, this is possible to keep both the cities as well as the production areas running.