Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many contend that budgets for vocational training should be prioritized over formal university education. However, I believe that each has their own merits and fitting for different people, hence deserving of equal investment. Thus, I disagree with this notion.

On the one hand, vocational training can be inclusive for all socioeconomics levels, allowing for greater employability for many groups. One of the main reasons can be that practical apprenticeships can allow for direct education of a particular skill set, leveraging those who cannot afford the expenses and time of tertiary pedagogy. This means that those who would otherwise be unemployed due to lacking ability can now enjoy a stable job acquired from those hands-on learning. Another reason for this is that learners of this type of institution can quickly identify their professional weaknesses through their difficulties and failures. As a case in point, during practical training, a student can be quick to recognize their lack in customer service skills; hence, the student can engage in an appropriate course to hone his skill. In short, this can provide higher employability for people from all walks of life.

On the other hand, it can be argued that higher education can allow students to accomplish greater depths in their professions. At a formal institution, students are required to employ greater professional insights during their studies. By having specialized courses, learners are able to more comprehensively navigate through problems as they have had previous rigorous research. As such, they can better analyze and propose optimal solutions over solving them by pure brute force. A second point is that universities can allow students to formalize and foster networks. At a higher pedagogical system, networks comprise those of their peers, those like-minded, and most importantly, key figures in their respective industries. These connections will ameliorate interpersonal and teamwork skills, as well as exposing students to potential opportunities limited exclusively within higher educational environments, giving them a competitive edge in the ever-challenging vying labor force.

In recapitulation, it can be seen that each model will benefit their own appropriate demographics. As such, adequate allocation of investment must be channeled evenly, so as to cultivate the workforce to a common goal: increased efficiency.