Technology has taken over the world, making a major change in the habits of children in their leisure time. It seems to me that its drawbacks, like a sedentary lifestyle, health problems and poor academic performance, outweigh its benefits.

On the plus side, there are a couple of advantages for children provided by technology. To begin with, technology has supplied a wide array of entertainment sources, like computer games, e-books and online cartoons. To illustrate, children can play video games and read e-books on their phones wherever they are. Furthermore, due to social networks, adolescences have a wide circle of friends living in other countries. To build upon my point a little more, they can virtually communicate with other young people in the world through online applications, like Facebook and Telegram, and spend their free time by talking with them.

Nevertheless, the disadvantages for children using technology for amusement are manifold. Given that most of these entertainment resources cause children to have fewer activities, they spend a lot of time using their computers and mobile phones at their homes as a result of which they have a sedentary lifestyle. Due to this lifestyle, it is highly likely that these children suffer from health issues, such as obesity and losing their sight. In addition, these activities provided by technology have adverse effects on academic performance. Indeed, these new recreation facilities not only are so addictive for students, but also interfere with their studies. For example, they cannot finish their homework because of compulsive playing computer game

To sum up, the children’s pastimes have been altered by technology. This issue leads to the upsides and downsides for children whose disadvantages are more than its benefits.