New technologies have change the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The introduction of many technological advances has fundamentally changed the way people of all ages enjoy their leisure time. While some argue that this trend may have a negative influence on children, I strongly believe that its benefits are more significant.

It is undeniable that technology, in general, may exert an adverse impact on the process of shaping a child’s values. Firstly, as many parents do not control the content which their offspring access online, children may be exposed to inappropriate materials, such as pornographic images or sex videos. Secondly, electronic games that encourage violence, crime and other unacceptable behavior could also do harm to a child’s personality. In fact, the phenomenon of bullying in schools has been aggravated due to the availability of countless violent games on the Internet.

On the other hand, children could benefit greatly from using devices such as tablets or laptops in their spare time. From a social perspective, schoolgirls and schoolboys could take advantage of social networking sites like Facebook or Twitter to get to know people from any corner of the world. Being able to widening their circle of friends, children tend to me more sociable, open-minded, and tolerant – a personality trait that is vitally important in this era of globalization. From an educational perspective, young boys and girls could expand their horizons with the help of many informative websites. For instance, my little brother is fond of going online in order to watch videos about wildlife or read articles concerning the mysteries of the universe for hours on end. This undoubtedly helps nurture his curiosity and the thirst for knowledge.

In conclusion, I am persuaded that the advantages of children spending their free time with the latest technological devices far more compensate for the disadvantages.