Some people believe famous people’s support towards international aid organizations draws attention to problems. Other thinks celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some hold the perspective that famous people have a crucial role to play in attracting public’s attention to hot issues by supporting international aid organizations, while others suggest that celebrities merely make problems less significant than they in fact are. Though there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that the impact of celebrities is generally positive.

Admittedly, the fact that every insignificant event in lives of celebrities nowadays makes front page headlines leads to people increasingly ignoring news about them. In reality, even an outrageous outfit worn by some idol could become the leading article of a newspaper; such trivia gives rise to people paying less and less attraction to news items about famous people. As well as this, yellow journalism has actually been notorious for the techniques they use when run stories about the showbiz which include exaggeration, scandal-mongering and sensationalism. Consequently, few people today trust the stories they hear about celebrities. The above-mentioned facts indicate that matters associated with superstars now capture less attention than they used to in the past. Even though famous people are in favor of any aid organizations or are showing support for some campaign, the public tend to doubt the real motives behind their actions and the reliability of the news.

On the other hand, I would contend that no one can deny celebrities’ powers of drawing attention and spreading news. In fact, the appearance of social networking sites such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter has made great contribution to the reduction in the distance between famous people and their adorable fans. One particularly prominent example of this is that whenever Justin Bieber, a world-known pop singer, posts a photo on his Instagram account, it receives millions of likes and comments within hours. One further instance is that of Miley Cyrus, an American musician/singer, who made going vegan movements known to a great many people with a picture showing her new tattoo of a tree – the symbol of a plant-based lifestyle. Further and even more importantly, though, well-known entertainers and sports athletes are usually regarded as youngster’s role models. The younger generation are often keen on copying patterns of behavior from their idols. If an idol shows his/her sympathy for people in a disaster-stricken region, for instance, his/her fans are highly likely to do the same thing. Actually, thousands of talented actor Brad Pitt’s supporters have made huge donations to international philanthropic bodies that he has donated to.

By way of conclusion, despite some drawbacks to celebrities’ participation in global aid agencies, I am convinced that it is more advantageous for the society that they take part in voluntary activities.