In many countries, governments are spending a large amount of money on improving Internet access. Why is it important and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

It is true that, in many regions of the world, authorities have become more and more concerned about extending Internet access. While there are some important reasons accounting for this trend, I consider that it should not be the top government priority.

This tendency is attributable to at least two major causes. One principal reason is that the Internet offers a wealth of free information, which provides people with golden opportunities to be more informed and educated. In reality, thanks to the introduction of Internet connection, students now can take advantage of distance learning courses in order to simply widen their horizons or even gain qualifications. Another cause is that governments could campaign for many key issues via technological advances, such as websites or social networks. For instance, if there is an outbreak of some epidemic, the authority could warn their citizens of the dangers and instruct them to take necessary precautions by posting an article on their official website.

Useful may Internet access be, I believe that the government should allocate their resources to more urgent issues. Firstly, more public spending should be poured into alleviating environmental degradation. Obviously, global warming, which stems from a marked increase in greenhouse gases, has increased the risk to humans of facing many fatal diseases and damaging natural disasters. Secondly, in many developed countries, the lack of schools and college has led to the shortage of an educated workforce, which is vitally important for the national economic growth. Thus, national and local authorities ought to invest more heavily in the field of education rather than in Internet technology.

In conclusion, although I admit that Internet connection does offer many benefits, I am persuaded that it is more crucial for nations to spend on the environment and education.