As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that making profits is the core operation principle of any enterprises. However, the question of whether a business has community duties or not remains a source of controversy. In my position, I believe that all companies ought to conduct their business in a socially responsible way.

From an economic perspective, if companies are able to generate huge profits, they may offer the society as a whole many tremendous benefits. Firstly, the more money a company earn, the more taxes it will pay to the government. As a result, the authority may have more revenue to spend in key fields, including education and healthcare. Secondly, thriving enterprises could take advantage of their huge income and increased capital to grow their business as well as expand their production, which leads to new job opportunities created within the community.

From a societal perspective, there are two principal causes why companies should take their corporate social responsibilities into consideration. One crucial reason is that the operations and manufacturing processes of businesses make an impact on the environment. Actually, there is a large number of companies that have been held accountable for causing damage to the environment. For instance, instead of installing modern waste treatment systems, many factories discharge chemical waste directly into rivers and seas, contaminating water and killing numerous aquatic animals. Another important cause why corporations should conduct their community duties is that they have money to do so. In fact, many well-known companies such as P&G and Unilever usually enhance their public image through philanthropic actions like giving charitable donations and providing scholarships.

In conclusion, I once again reaffirm my view that, apart from maximizing profits, fulfilling the social responsibilities should be high on the agenda of all companies.