Cycling is more environmentally-friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

The fact that cycling, which is widely considered environmentally-friendly, does not gain much popularity in many places raises certain questions about the reasons for this trend. Due to its tremendous benefits, the activity of cycling should be encouraged by some effective measures.

There are at least two dominant causes explaining why bicycles are unpopular. One principal reason is that in such a fast-paced lifestyle like today, people, especially those who live on the suburbs and commute to work on a daily basis, prefer to travel by car in order to speed up their journey times. While cycling is convenient and time-consuming for short distances, particularly in crowded city centers, it takes a great deal of time to finish a journey which is tens of miles long. Another powerful cause is that it requires a certain level of physical strength and fitness so as to cycle frequently. For instance, office workers, most of whom adopt a sedentary way of living, find cycling to work unthinkable as it is demanding and exhausting.

In reality, the use of bicycles could be increased by some practical solutions. Firstly, governments should pour more money into building dedicated cycle lanes and impose stricter road safety regulations. Safe in the knowledge that traffic congestion is no longer a problem and the danger of road accidents is reduced, cyclists would be more willing to use their bikes to reach various destinations. Secondly, workplaces including offices and factories should provide changing rooms and shower facilities to enable their employees to freshen up after cycling to work. Furthermore, enterprises could organize cycling events to encourage their workers to keep fit as well as socialize with colleagues after work and therefore help to improve their productivity.