Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while other believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views.

Upon graduating from high school, school-leavers are usually faced with the question of whether to get a job immediately or to attend some college. Both of these options certainly have their own advantages, some of which are going to be pointed out in the following paper.

On the one hand, attaining tertiary education is of tremendous benefit to people that desire to pursue a successful career. Firtsly, universities and colleges provide students with academic knowledge and precious skills of their majors which are vital for chasing such top jobs as business consultant, architect and surgeon. Obviously, being trained by learned professors and talented predecessors, one is guaranteed a high probability of having an easy time getting hired after graduation since they are surely able to meet the higher-level qualifications required by the giants in their field. Secondly, ones who get a bachelor’s degree tend to receive a higher salary than those do not. In fact, governments in many parts of the world have introduced the policy of different wage rates for employees with various levels of education for ages. As well as this, those graduating from top-tier institutions are highly likely to be chosen for promotion and executive positions.

On the other hand, entering the workforce right after finishing high school education is beneficial in its own ways. Admittedly, immersing oneself in a variety of working environments helps a person figure out what suits him/her best. High school graduates, mostly at the age of 18, will obtain a lot of real experience by entering adult lives, working as a full-time worker from very soon and even job hopping several times during the first years of their career. Further and even more importantly, though, there are a great number of students whose family cannot afford their tuition fees and may be struggling to get by, it is a good idea for them to work and earn money as soon as possible so that they can support their family and relieve the financial constraints.

By way of conclusion, either obtaining a degree or working in a chosen profession has its own unique benefits. And these two routes may all be good ones guiding people to a fulfilled career later.