Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

It is obvious that cycling is more eco-friendly than other forms of private transport. There are some reasons for this trend and some effective measure can be taken to overcome the reluctance of the public to use bikes and to make the bicycle a more popular means of transport.

There are several reasons why cycling as an activity is not more popular. Firstly, cycling demands the reasonable level of physical fitness to cope with a journey of any length, going up hills and confronting biting wind and rain. Secondly, many people are put off cycling by the danger of using busy roads. Although many children used to cycle to school, the roads were much less danger than fifty years ago, and today cyclists have to confront heavy traffic. Finally, journeys by bikes generally take longer than traveling by cars which is a major factor in busy and stressful lives which most people seem to lead nowadays.

With a little public and private initiative, the popularity of the cycling could easily be increased. Anyone can build up their fitness, beginning with using a bike for short journeys to work, to school and to the shops. Campaigns in media, in schools and workplace can promote the health benefits of cycling, and offices and factories should provide changing facilities and hot shower for employees which arriving cold and wet by bike. Authorities must discourage motorists from using their cars by introducing the congestion charges, as in London, reducing traffic on the roads and encouraging more people to use bikes. If more city cycle lanes are also construct, these will keep cyclist safe and speed up their journey times.

In conclusion, with planning and investment, it should be possible to increase the popularity of cycling, especially for all those short trips to work or school.