It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the perspective that it is impossible for goverments to make tertiary education accessible to a large number of youngsters and there is also no use doing so. Personally, I completely agree with this statement.

First of all, national and local authorities are highly unlikely to be able to supply more university places for the young generation due to many financial constraints. Admittedly, it would require a great deal of money poured into building new bricks and mortar as well as supplying teaching equipment. In addtion, a lot of professors would be consequently on demand, which would lead to another issue of salaries paid to those people. All things mentioned above would definetely be a real burden to the government budget, especially during times of economic crisis like today, when the state has to prioritize their expenditure on subsidizing domestic enterprises, stablilizing the economy and paying unemployment benefits.

Secondly, if people gained access to higher education so easily, they would tend to overlook the merits of vocational education, which might result in a lot of trouble. Obviously, should the doors to a university or a college be more open, with cheaper tuition fees or easier entrance exams for instance, there would be a high probability that people would prefer to attend some university rather than enroll in a vocational course. As a result, there would exist an imbalance in the world of work with the number of white-collar workers overwhelming that of blue-collar workers. From another angle, the unemployed rate among university and college graduates would be on the increase while there would be a lack of skilled labour.

In conclusion, I once again reaffirm my view that providing a large percentage of the young with university places is neither feasible nor useful.