New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that new technologies affect the activities children do in their leisure time in both positive and negative aspects. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and I will explain my views.

On the one hand, technology is really helpful in our lives. First of all, children tend to enjoy playing online games and these games develop their cognitive abilities. Quiz games or strategic games, for instance, require children to be able to make decisions in different situations and be good at logical thinking. They not only improve problem-solving skills but also help them deal with any sudden situations. Moreover, thanks to enormous and available sources of online information, young people profit from early interaction with the Internet. They can widen their horizons when looking for foreign articles, joining in online courses and it is easy for them to satisfy their curiosity.

On the other hand, smart devices also bring some drawbacks. One major disadvantage is that children spending time on computer games are unwilling to take part in outdoor activities and do exercises. The less exercises they do, the more illnesses they will have. It is the reason for obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease formation. Beside that, if children constantly spend most of their time on the Internet, they will be addicted. Some games allure them to continue playing for hours, such as role-playing games, which require people to stay in front of the screen for some hours so as to complete all the missions.

To sum up, while there are some benefits of electronic applications for children, I opine that the negative effects are more remarkable