News editor decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in news papers. what factors do you think influences these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Journalism is a very sensitive job because it can provoke or diminish any dispute. Also, journalists are the one who decide about the article they want to publish in magazines or newspapers. However, there are ample of aspects that affect the article before publishing. If asked about bad news, I perceive that people do not get influenced through the bad news but there are several merits if positive news is shown on TV channels.

The first and foremost aspect that affect the TV reports is that number of viewers. To add to this point, majority of the time media tries to attract more and more viewers which improves their TRP, hence they make their articles and reports interesting and entertaining. Moreover, politics also plays a vital role on what to show to the general public. In addition, TV channels and journalist sometimes canvasses political party and eventually make their reports biased.

Focusing to the second question, I believe that people do not become habituated with bad news. As people now have became smarter and they understand the difference between positive news and negative news. Moreover, media does not always displays the negative side, varieties of knowledge giving sessions and reports are also being shown by media which are very helpful. Similarly, media also shows achievement on country level and personal level and motivates too.

Answering to the last question, I firmly believe that displaying positive news have benefits for country and individuals. Media has great influence over public and showing positive articles can motivate people also. For instance, reports of Olympic winners, interviews of entrepreneurs and detail reports of scientific achievements can motivate youth to follow their path to achieve better goals. Moreover, good news can spread awareness also. Along with this, it can stop crimes and gives strength to raise voice against any false act. For example, reports of anti corruption act and laws can spread awareness among local people.

To conclude, It can be said that news is eyes of people and it should be transparent without any pressure of political motivation and private benefit. Subsequently, smartness has given strength to people to decide between negativity and positivity but in my view media should not look towards spreading fake poisonous news and it should spread positivity by showing positive news and spreading awareness.