Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new

medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these

experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to

suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals argue that animal testing is an effective method to generate novel cures to detrimental diseases while others say that it is extremely unethical to implement this abject way. From my perspective, I totally agree with the latter opinion.

On the one hand, animal experiments make a huge contribution to alleviating the rate of death annually. When a new medicine is produced, its effectiveness should be tested before applying for human beings. Therefore, animal testing is one of the most feasible and applicable methods for scientists to determine whether the cure which has just been created is effective or not. By performing this stage, doctors have a tendency to assure that medicines given to clients will not trigger any devastating consequences. Without overhauling the outcome of the new cure, it is likely that human’s lives would be put at risk.

On the other hand, the human race has no rights to pose a fatal threat to animals. They are supposed to live and flourish in a favorable habitat providing these creatures with food sources and freedom to do what they desire. Testing natural species with hazardous chemicals on a regular basis is likely to drive them to the edge of extinction, despoiling the foodchain essential not only to the human but also to other species. Thus, council and national governments have to take measures which tend to cost a considerable amount of money in order to mitigate the shortage in the foodchain that is caused by the human race. As a result, there would be inadequate funds for other domains, especially the medical field, plunging the process of creating new medicines.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although animal testing is an advantageous choice to ensure the safety of the human, this immoral method should be banned due to its detrimental effects.