Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animal suffer, while others are in favour of the because of their benefits to humanity

Recently, the question of whether animals should be tested in experimentation to develop medicine and products or it should be prohibited has heated a debate. From my point of view, i am favour of preventing animal’s use in laboratory.

On the one hand, animal testing is essential in studying, especially in medication for some reasons. First, animal share genetic similarities with human. Therefore, by testing on animal, scientists could eradicate undesirable effects and make changes to medicines before it becomes mass-produced as well as being given to humans. Second, animal are able to produce huge population in a short period of time. For example, according recent studies, it is said that rats could give birth of up to two thousand babies every year which are quickly grown so that animal can provide a wide variety of population contributing to experiments.

On the other hand, animal experiments ought to to be ceased due to some causes behind. First and foremost, it is unjustifiable to cause animal to suffer. Admittedly, animal has rights to live and acts have been enacted to protect them. In addition, advancement in technology would replace animal in laboratory. Currently, some computer-modeling techniques has been examined by scientists with successful outcomes. Moreover, it is more time-saving and cost-effective than the use of animal in research.

In conclusion, despite of some merits above, it seem to me that animal pains outweigh benefits to humans. It is high time effective alternative methods are embraced.