1. Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the use of animals in experimentation has raised a controversial issue. Some people believe that animals are significant in testing new products and development of medicines while others argue that it is unethical and should be banned. In my opinion, banning animals testing is extremely necessary because of animals’ extinction and moral norms.

On the one hand, animal plays a significant role in developing new medicine. When scientists develop a new vaccine, for example, they have to test the effectiveness before it is mass-produced. Therefore, animals which share similarities in human gene will be the best example. If there are any problems or errors, scientists may have enough time to fix the problems before apply it on humans. Moreover, this not only apply in medicine but also in cosmetics as well. In fact, testing is the only way that scientist can examine how the body reacts to chemicals. If there is any skin irritation, they may change the formula to have the best quality products. Hence, animal testing is necessary evil in developing a new medicine.

On the other hand, using animals in experiments is against the moral norms. Undeniably, animals have right to live and against cruelty. However, they are injected with diseases to examine the effectiveness of a new drug. In some cases, they die as the result of the experiments or even are euthanized to avoid the later pain and distress. In addition, the more animals are used in studies, the greater they are extinct. In fact, millions of animals all over the world have been used in experimentation leading to a reduction in their quantity. Furthermore, it could cause imbalance in bio-diversity and the result in unpredictable. Thus, it is cruel to use animals in research and this must be stopped.

In conclusion, animals’ experimentations are advantageous for humans but avoidable. From my point of view, it is unethical and should be stopped before animals become disappear.