1. Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The use of animal for experimentation has raised a controversial issue. While some people believe that animal testing is beneficial to human, others strongly argue that is unethical and must be stopped.

On the one hand, animals play a significant role in laboratory. Due to the advancement in biology, scientist found out that animals share similarities in gene with human so that animal such as mice will be injected with diseases to measure the drug effectiveness. If it is successful, the drug can be mass-produced and millions of human lives can be saved. Another point to mention is that how scientist could examine the new drug without animals. Although different alternatives have been introduced to reduce the use of animals in research, they cannot completely replace the role of animals. For example, some special-programmed computers have been developed so as to predict the quality of new drug. However, it is not effective because the results are usually wrong or not as precise as experiment on animals. Therefore, use of animals in laboratory is inevitable.

On the other hand, the use of animals in research is unethical. Every year, millions of animals all over the world which comes from breeding centers are used in experiment and most of them die as the result of the experiment. Furthermore, some animals which are alive after experiment would be euthanized to avoid the later pain and distress. Another point worth mentioning is using animals in experimentation may lead to unreliable result. For instance, cage environment can raise the level of stress in animals which can lead to fluctuation in the final result. Furthermore, the more unstable the results are, the more animals are tested to examine. Hence, it is clearly unethical to use animals in experimentation.

In conclusion, animals play an important part in scientific research. However, I strongly disagree with the idea of using them in drug testing. In my opinion, it is against the moral norms and ineffective. Instead, alternatives should be further developed to avoid the use of animals in experimentation.