1. Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, animals experiments have raised a controversial issue. While some people believe that animals should be used to test new medicines, others argue that it is unethical and must be banned. From my point of view, animals testing is against morality because of cruelty as well as extinction.

On the one hand, animals can be used to test new drug because they share genetic similarities to humans. When scientists develop a new vaccine, they need to study how the host body reacts to the new drug. Therefore, they may use animals like monkeys because of their genetic relatedness. If it is unsuccessful, they can gain experience and try another drug. In addition, animals testing can replace the human volunteers in experiments. Although many people are volunteer to join in experiments, the quantity is few. This can limit the research population and lead to wrong result. Thus, animal testing is advantageous because of gene similarities and huge population.

On the other hand, animals testing is extremely cruel. In fact, animals are usually objected with the diseases before being taken to the laboratory. Afterwards, they will be given the new drug to test their body reaction. As a result, some animals die at the end of the research or euthanized to avoid the later pain and distress. Another point to mention is that animals testing is money-consuming. Undoubtedly, scientists may not only need one but also millions animals to examine a new drug. Consequently, they have to pay millions dollar which is equivalent to the number of animals. In short, animals testing is cruel and wasteful.

In conclusion, animals experimentation is still a controversial debate. From my viewpoint, using animals in laboratory is unethical and money-consuming.