Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because its morally wrong to cause animals to suffer,while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinoin

Experimental use of animals in researches is controversial issue over last few decades, though it has a vital role in many scientific and medical breakthroughs of past and present century. However, both animal right-extremists and anti-vivisectionist groups believe that animal researches are cruel and unnecessary, regardless of the purpose or benefit. Let us discuss both aspects of pharmaceutical use of animals here.

Scientists denotes the significance of animal testing in bio-medical sector as it serves the purpose of a human being tested. They points out that we share 95% of our genes with a mouse, making them an effective model for human body.They proves through many experiments that all animals are similar since organ systems and diseases to it are similar. The inevitability of pharmaceutical use of animals is exemplified by invention of cancer cure drugs, asthma inhalers and modern vaccines for polio, TB and meningitis. Moreover, the proponents argue that in an ecosystem sacrifice of an organism for the benefits of other is always justified. The above facts necessitates animal use of research programmes.

On the other hand, naturalists proclaim that rather than cruel, animal experiments are unreliable and even dangerous. Their first argument is that the basic moral right of a living organism is not respected, but reduced to mere tools in a scientific research. Next,the pain and sufferings that the animals subjected to is immense. Last, but equally important reason of the opponents is that, despite the similarities between humans and some animals, there are significant differences that can not be ignored. So complicated diseases of mankind may not be complex for other animals. For example, only one third of human cancer causing substances are harmful for other living beings. These points belittle the importance of live tests.

To conclude, only controlled and minimal live researches can be allowed considering the medical advancements and alternatives to animal tests are to be encouraged.