Nowadays, children spend more time playing computer games and less time playing sports. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's world, computer games are gradually taking the place of many traditional activities, including sports, and many teenagers prefer this kind of entertainment instead of playing outdoors. Apart from the contribution of progress in digital and computer technology, this universal phenomenon is mainly attributed to two factors.

There are a variety of reasons why computer games are generally considered more entertaining than sports by young people. First and foremost, being more physically demanding on the participants, many sports activities, such as jogging, gymnastics, and swimming, might be not only fairly exhausting but also simply based on the repetition of the same tedious movements, which may result in boredom rather than excitement for children. On the contrary, sitting in front of the computer screen, which displays vivid and eye-catching images associated with less physical but more mentally challenging tasks, is evidently more comfortable for young players, who are, at the same time, able to enjoy tremendous psychological achievement brought by the accomplishment of the intriguing missions unfolded by the surprising plots. Furthermore, because of the COVID-19 restrictions, the park and other public places were closed for a few months. Additionally, all outside leisure activities were banned by the governments to prevent citizens from getting infected by the Corona viruses, which have killed the lives of millions of people. As a result, several online entertainments, such as gaming, have grown in popularity and attract thousands of participants. Thus, it became the number one leisure activity in the world during this period.

Despite certain advantages mentioned above, I believe that this trend could be a social tragedy for the current and next generation's physical and mental development.First and foremost, insufficient regular physical exercise has become one of the most common triggers of deteriorating physical conditions among young urban dwellers today. Appropriate sports are not only essential to accelerating teenagers' metabolism, and hence, reducing their chance of developing chronic diseases like obesity, but also stimulating the production and release of hormones that regulate juveniles' physical growth. In other words, long-time staring at electronic devices which are full of flashing images might impair children's eyesight and backbones. Moreover, excessive computer gaming may not develop some social skills that a child needs. Although it is argued that young players are still able to communicate with others verbally or literally in some online games, the limits of the virtual cyber world, in comparison to the tangible physical contact with peers on a playground or park, are manifest, ranging from the obsession with the triumphs of digital fantasy to the isolation from face-to-face cooperation and competition in team sports such as football or basketball. Therefore, a lack of these traits could negatively impact the careers of young people in the future.

In summary, the instant and overwhelming pleasant feelings that originate from online games are undeniable. Nevertheless, this phenomenon could be unfavorable for young people's holistic development and lead to health issues and isolation from other people from a long-term perspective.