Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumer durables tended to be more common, but there has been a massive increase in the importance of consumer goods in people’s lives. This new way of living clearly is a mixed blessing.

There are a plenty of options available for people to choose from. This is one of the most, if not the most, beneficial aspect of consumerism. In the past people used to choose between at most two brands of a product that they had an intention to buy. Nowadays, provided one wants to buy a cheese, which is one of the most straightforward needs of human, has several options to choose, from the manufacturer to the type of cheese. Having mentioned the vast range of options, with the emerge of globalism, consumerism has expanded and people can buy items from all over the world. This also has led to more range of options for buyers.

Considering the wide range of choices that consumerism provides, it does have setbacks. Many consumers buy produces that they do not even need, this is a result of marketing and misleading advertisements that is incredibly common in our lives. Another setback for this is that the purchasing power of people has decreased steeply, in that people follow consumerism in an adverse way and excessively buy items that is promoted by media. A shining example is how consumers buy a brand new Iphone when their old Iphone is working just fine. This can really make trouble in their budget planning.

Taking all these points into account, it can clearly be seen that, although people have more options to buy, it certainly reduce their power of purchasing and resulted in misleading adverts.