Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is suggested by some people that conserving the environment is government’s job, whilst there are other people who believe everyone should take part in. It seems that without the help of ihe individuals, it is impossible to preserve our environment.

On the one hand, it is naively suggested that government should take care of environment single-handedly. This view implies that those who are in power can preserve our environment by introducing legislation. This view holds that as government pass new law, it becomes a cultural practice. For example, provided that political leaders raise taxes on fossil fuels, people tend to use their private car less often. Other than that, government can define a fine for people who litter on streets. These methods might seem a little bit harsh, but it would pay off in the long run.

There are, on the other hand, those who claim that individuals should take part in protecting the environment, which seems more logical. Their main observation is that government does not have access to everywhere and cannot take care of refuses in, for example, remote areas. People who live in rural areas should handle their refuses by their own, in that there is no administrator who can transfer the refuses to the landfill and burn or burry them, so people should do appropriate measures themselves. Other than that, ordinary people can help saving the environment by doing as much as they can. As an instance, they can use their own reusable grocery bags when they are going for shopping and do not use plastic bags. With theses straightforward and cost-effective tasks we, as a part of society, can protect our environment.

On balance, the mindset that it is government’s job to protect the environment can be more harmful than good. People who hold this view tent to not contribute in saving the planet and litter and do other things that are dangerous for the environment. I think that, it is true that those who are in power can protect our world by passing legislation, individuals, however, have to pay their debts to our world too.