Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern era where the development of technology is inevitable, there is still a trend that alternative medicines and treatments stand as the solution in the modern society. People nowadays have proper knowledge about medicine which proven than the old one. In my perspective, the proposal of using traditional medicines and treatments is good; however, this essay will explore both sides of this discussion.

First and foremost, people in my country have limited access to medical facilities such as a clinic, hospital and pharmacy, particularly in rural access. People tend to consult their health condition to their parents or even shamans in order to get solutions for their health their use an ancient receipt as medicine by utilizing special plants as the main ingredient. Furthermore, that solution support the other reason due to the budget of the service being cheaper compared to the modern one. Utilizing the special plant will reduce dramatically the expense because they could get it in their garden or even in the traditional market. Additionally, the shaman does not standardize the price of the service because they act as a charity and help.

The third reason is the story about their ancient generation that already rooted in their belief about medication are better than the other solution. For instance, in the Sundanese tribe, kids who get a fever should drink a special drink made of tea from the highest hill will recover the condition within one night. On the other hand, a research-based modern technology of medicines and treatments are more proven by supporting from a theoretical and empirical background. People who get modern treatment will be safer due to there being a standard operational procedure for all of the treatments and medicine such as taking a pill of paracetamol for influenza or fever disease.

In conclusion, the traditional ways of medicine and treatment still exist as the solution in rural area even though it frequently has a huge difference from modern ones.