Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, it has raised public concerns over the past decades that a growing number of sick people are making attempts at alternative medicines or treatments in lieu of depending on the doctors. Although there are some merits of money, I would argue that there are far more demerits, and in this essay, I will support my idea with examples.

The main perks of the trend towards individuals can save money instead of splurging on medical costs. In most countries in the world, the amount of money that is spent on doctors and medicines is higher than their monthly income. Therefore, trying other treatments which fit their budget is like scoring some great deals. A prime example of that is the limited budget of overseas students, which has prevented them from visiting doctors when they have health problems. They saved their money at the expense of their health. If they use the wrong methods, they will pay a heavy price, compared with the price they pay for the medical costs.

Despite some positives, I believe that visiting doctors as usual is a positive way for various reasons. Firstly, doctors have been schooled for a long time to save people. They have enough knowledge to recognize and treat one's health in the right way. For example, in Viet Nam, which has not developed enough medical expertise, people who are in the moneyed classes are willing to spend an enormous amount of money on medical expenses in developed countries such as the United States, Japan, among others. Regarding the privileged, the onus of very high costs for medicines is on the governments. The governments should make a joint to reduce costs for the poor. Secondly, a person can detect other illnesses early and have a timely plan for treatment.

In conclusion, while there are beneficial effects of this development, I strongly believe that visiting doctors is the best treatment to treat the health problems that people are getting.