Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The proliferation of the tourism in this day and age has raised a challenging question about whether the industry itself brings more tension over coordination between those with different culture backgrounds. From my personal perspective, I would take a dim view with this opinion.

First and foremost, we are all acknowledge that traveling is the best ways to enrich our understanding. Since pictures, movies and books are never enough in satisfy ing human s’ hunger for new horizons, people come to traveling as a powerful means of widening their knowledge. Moreover, along with the huge amount of knowledge being obtained is a profound understanding about others’ traditions. Tourists would learn to respect and accept the host nation’s uniqueness which will consequently foster the harmony and integration across nations. However, it is undeniable that there are still a few tourists whose behaviours are inappropriate and hostile to the country’s inhabitants and the local environment.

The second point that should be taken into consideration is the positive effects of global tourism on a country’s economic and society. It is undeniable that more and more employments are being created thanks to the continuous development of international tourism. In terms of developing countries, this is not only help the poor to make ends meet but also alleviate the country’s economic burden. Take the Philippines as the prime example, given that 70% of their population depend on the tourist sector as their main income, the country’s economy was nearly on the verge of collapse when the Covid pandemic limited people’s traveling mobility.

In a nutshell, it is my belief that global tourism, as the dominant industry in this days and ages, does more goods than harms to human beings.