Nowadays many people are diagnosed qith anorexia. What do you think the causes of this are? What can be done to improve the situation?

Of late people are making strict dietry changes to look lean and to avoid weight gains. In some severe cases, this is being attributed to as psychiatric disorders termed as anorexia. The following paragraphs shall discuss the possible contributing factors and counter measures.

The major reason behind avoiding food is an influence of mass media. The common person craves to copy the fashion of their favourite actors and models to look attractive and to attain a slender body which makes them skip meals and they also indulge in extensive physical exercises without considering the aftermath. Secondly, the stress to fit into a box. As certain professions demands sleek physique as employees for instance, airlines crew, entertainment industries and workers for front desk in multinational companies. This can cause a huge stress, lack of self esteem and a constant preoccupation to get recognition.

Certain measures should be adopted to combat this unhealthy habit. The most significant one is an awareness which can be given at school and college levels to convey the advantages of balanced diet and the basic need of physical and mental health. Another improvement can be made by consulting a professional for counseling. The main focus of counseling should be on enhancement of self confidence, acceptance of self, stress management and behavioral modifications by replacing pessimistic thoughts into positive ones.

To recapitulate, the habit of anorexia can lead to serious health issues. The above mentioned techniques can be used to address the problem else one day we will have an unhealthy society.