Nowadays many people believe that children should be taught history in schools, however, others argue that children should learn subjects that are more helpful for modern everyday life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is debatable that in present era of advanced technology, if there is a need to educate various historical facts to children in schools. Many people agree with the opinion that knowing history is important whereas others believe that more emphasis must be given on subjects related to Science and technology. In this essay, we will discuss about both the opinions and find out why history is still an important part of our school education system.

Most of the people have wrong perception about the things taught in history classes. They think that history is all about remembering facts and various dates which is completely wrong. Actually, the truth is that History is a great way to learn about various mistakes that mankind did in the past and so that we don’t repeat such mistakes in future. Secondly, children get to know about situations which they may face in their lives as adults and history provides them with the information on how reacting to different situations produces different results. For instance, there are many wars fought in history only because of the egomaniac attitude of one person. Adolf Hitler is the biggest example in this case. The point is teaching such incidences about the past teaches students about sound moral judgement and helps build good moral and ethical values.

On the other hand, modern day people believe that students must be given as much time as possible to learn about technology and science because the future is all about technological advancements. They believe that if students are taught about science from a very small age then they can be really prepared for their future and do not need to worry about their career in the future. In their belief learning about history wastes students time which could have been productively used in teaching other subjects.

In my opinion, all the subjects are equally important for the overall growth of the child which includes history as well. There is lot to learn from our past experiences and this statement holds even in the scientific field. For example, to conduct a scientific research, first of all related past studies and explanations about the topic needs to studied in order to successfully complete the research in specific time period. There is no point in repeating the same mistakes that had been already done in the past and then corrected. Thus, having historical information makes us more smart about taking future decisions.

In conclusion, it can be said that despite the advent of science and technology the importance of history cannot be neglected and overseen. Having knowledge about history not only helps us in developing good moral values but also helps us in making informed decisions in technology field as well.