Nowadays many people believe that children should be taught history in schools, however, others argue that children should learn subjects that are more helpful for modern everyday life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Without any shred of doubt, school is a critical rite of passage in children life and almost all parents are worried about an area of study of their offspring. People have different views with regard to whether history should be included in the school curriculum or not. While some contend that it would be more practical to learn contemporary subjects, by my reckoning, course of history assists to build up a complete personality.

On the one hand, proponents, including me, believe that the significance of history on spiritual facet of everybody life should not be underestimated. Since many years ago, history class has been an indispensable part of an educational program where young generations, as potential talents in each society, have been able to gain priceless historical stories and traditions. As a matter of fact, history class, recognized as a window to the past, imparts knowledge in regard to our ancestors. These heritages develop deep cultural roots in the multitudes and instill a sense of patriotism, along with belongings, among people regardless of their level, position, gender and the like. It seems that without this course we would lose our identification.

On the other hand, opponents underscore that it is better to omit history from school syllabus and give modern study first priority. In their notion, courses such as math, management and science would bring a number of benefits for students in relation with their career horizon. In fact, in modern business, employees who are master in science neither need to know field of history nor have a background in this course. All in all, they firmly say that there is no place for history in the new century.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned remarks, I would argue that, on balance, we should not focus just on materialistic aspect of human’s lifestyle overlooking the importance of history. It goes without saying that learning history aims to introduce a powerful (social) character.

haracter.