Nowadays food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Based on famous quotation, 'You are what you eat', there are a few things that could be as important as food. With regard to technological advancements, along with food burgeoning market, nowadays, a host of people are able to prepare food without concern about time and energy. By my reckoning, albeit this change has brought considerably benefits, its drawbacks can not be eliminated.

Many support the view that modern appliances and methods lead to remarkably altering people's lifestyle. First, before development of processed food, microwave, electric stove, food preparation was time-consuming activity and needed a great deal of effort to carry out. So people did not have enough time to do many other things. As a matter of fact, cooking has been become easier and faster by new equipment, hence, people can save noticeable amount of time and spend more time in entertainment and recreational activities. On the other hand, by modern tools such as refrigerator, not only can we preserve food for longer time-span, but also it can enable us to use and kind of foods regardless of temperature, season and geographical positions.

On the downside, the improvements in food preparation methods have led to the growth in fast food industries, like mushrooms after the rain, causing the great number of health hazards. Easy to cook and time-saving, ready-made food like canned and frozen ones really take off among people. This results in health-related diseases. In other words, many of nutritious containing may be lost through canning and freezing process.

In summary, considering lifestyle, easiness in preparing food has both pros and cons but it is everyone's duty to be aware about how to cook their meals in order to avoiding health problems.