Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

In many countries, especially poor and developing nations, the illiterate rate is still high. This essay is included some impacts of this problem, and also points out some solutions which the government could carry out to solve this phenomenon.

To begin with, there are some obvious consequences when many citizens still could not read and write in this modern world. Firstly, since reading and writing are basic and compulsory factors to recruiting employees, without this knowledge, people do not have access to well-paid and light jobs. As a result, these dwellers have to commit manual jobs instead of intellectual ones. This makes their lives more difficult than those who have well-educated profiles. Secondly, in terms of society, the low education level in a certain nation might also procrastinate the civilization and development of that nation. This might partly impact that nation’s sovereignty as it could be easier to defeat a poor country than those which are prosperous and powerful.

Some measures should be implemented in these countries to tackle this phenomenal problem. The first solution is that the government should educate freely for students who have poor financial conditions. This could encourage them to go to school despite suffering from harsh circumstances. Furthermore, a modern learning system and qualified teachers should be sent to some remote areas. This can be done by paying higher salaries for teachers and workers who work in these undeveloped areas. Finally, the administrations also need to invest more budget in upgrading the infrastructure in mountainous areas. This creates a good opportunity for children to transport to schools, which many students have been prevented from official learning because of this factor.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that not knowing how to write and read might prevent the prosperity of a certain nation, therefore, some noticeable implementations could be applied to minimize its impacts by the government.